Hopeless – Colleen Hoover

Hopeless
Hopeless – Colleen Hoover
Published: 12-19-2012 by Colleen Hoover
Get the book: Amazon, The Book Depository

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

covergreen

Design – Sarah Hansen

This cover is nice but bland and could be for any book really. I really don’t have anything to say about it except that the color palette is nice.

thought green

I have officially learned my lesson. Any Colleen Hoover book is going to be emotionally devastating and contain an impossibly perfect boy. This is a very long book and all the drama started to get to me after awhile. Hopeless is full of dramatic declarations of love, heavy subject matters, and emotional breakdowns. It’s an extremely dramatic love story, with no shortage of chemistry and tons of description.

loved green

  • Holder + Sky – I love any interaction between Holder and Sky. They have crazy chemistry and a deep and beautiful connection. Holder’s emotions are clearly strong and near the surface. He has some intense mood swings early into his friendship with Sky, and the reasons aren’t revealed until much later on in the story. Sky, although very interested in him, doesn’t let Holder go off and act out whenever he wants. She gets angry at him for his treatment of her during these outbursts and she lets him know it. Every time Sky and Holder are together, the sexual tension is high and highly delicious.
  • Breckin – Breckin’s first interaction with Sky made me love him. Even though Breckin is far from perfect, he is great and provides some much-needed relief from the extremely high drama of this book. He seeks Sky out and proposed they form an alliance against the rest of the school, who are shown as people who judge others solely on rumors. This story quickly becomes all about Holder and Sky’s relationship, so Breckin gives us a break from them and sometimes that’s a big relief. He’s really the only person that Sky interacts with besides Holder, sometimes Six, and her mom.

didn't love green

  • timing of sex – I have no problem at all with sex in my YA novels if it makes sense for it to happen. My issue with the sex in Hopeless is that it happens when both Sky and Holder are in emotional down-spirals after big revelations. Yes, it distracts them for a while from their problems, but I would have liked to see them just holding each other. The timing of it just threw me off a big, because there were plenty of other times they could have had sex.
  • highly dramatic – It’s easy to get sucked in to this story, but for me the drama was so much that it took me out of the story at some points. Holder is devoted to Sky and especially prone to dramatic declarations of love forever. Both Sky and Holder are going through some crises following major revelations about their lives and loved ones. There are some very heavy subject matters dealt with in this story, which make Hopeless nothing less than heartbreaking. One of these things is hinted at early and throughout the story, but some of the things are revealed or happen in quick succession near the end. This is not a light read. I mean, he says ‘I live you’ instead of ‘I love you.’

quotes green

I also don’t want to fall for someone who has already branded himself hopeless. But I’m curious. So curious.

“If I ask you something, will you be honest?”

He tilts his head toward me. “That’s all I’ll ever be.”

– Sky + Holder  pg. 80

He’s blaming himself again. He always feels like he’s done something terrible, when I feel like he’s been nothing short of my hero. He’s been with me through all of this, steadily carrying me through my panic attacks and freak-outs until I’m calm. He’s done nothing but be there for me, yet he still feels like this is somehow his fault.

– pg. 368

4robots green

4 Robots

Acquired: bought (ebook)

Talk to me!

