Crash

CrashCrash by Lisa McMann
(Visions #1)
Published: 1-8-13 by Simon Pulse
Get the book: AmazonThe Book Depository

Jules lives with her family above their restaurant, which means she smells like pizza most of the time and drives their double-meatball-shaped food truck to school. It’s not a recipe for popularity, but she can handle that.

What she can’t handle is the recurring vision that haunts her. Over and over, Jules sees a careening truck hit a building and explode…and nine body bags in the snow.

The vision is everywhere—on billboards, television screens, windows—and she’s the only one who sees it. And the more she sees it, the more she sees. The vision is giving her clues, and soon Jules knows what she has to do. Because now she can see the face in one of the body bags, and it’s someone she knows. Someone she has been in love with for as long as she can remember.

covergreen

Design – Jessica Handelman      Rating – 3/5

I really like the fire in the girl’s eye. It’s almost subtle, and it really makes the iris a creepy orange/brown color from afar. I also like the simple sans-serif of the title, as well as its location and color. I even like how it’s in all lowercase, which is rare for me. Overall, it’s a strange section of a face, but it’s definitely striking.

thought green

Crash is a quick read and an intriguing mystery. It’s not as heavy as McMann’s Wake trilogy, even though it involves visions of death. Jules wasn’t my favorite character, but I like her determination, as well as her family’s business and their rivalry with another restaurant.

loved green

  • visions – The way that the visions work in Crash is really interesting. They pop up practically everywhere, making the scene the scene impossible for Jules to ignore. My favorite aspect of the visions is how, with each of Jules’ attempts to keep it from happening, the visions shift to include more or less body bags lined up in the snow.
  • Sawyer – I really like Sawyer as a character. He’s always kind to Jules, even while keeping his distance due to the ridiculous feud between their families. Sawyer doesn’t ever believe that Jules is making things up to mess with his family, and his true reason for not talking to Jules is heartbreaking.
  • Jules’ family – Jules’ brother is wonderful and they have a great relationship. Their father struggles with mental illness and they are all trying to keep their restaurant afloat. Overall, I felt that Jules’ family dynamic was more interesting than her crush on Sawyer.

didn't love green

  • Jules’ crush – In my opinion, Jules doesn’t really get much of a personality. Her crush comes off as a bit obsessive, especially since Sawyer shows no interest in her. Much of the book is Jules reacting to the horrifying visions she’s having – freaking out over their increased frequency or hiding from the growing sense of responsibility the visions bring. So, Jules came off a bit bland to me, although I do really admire her determination to get Sawyer to believe and trust her about her visions. 

quotes green

When we get to the sidewalk along the road, he just puts his hands on my shoulders and looks into my eyes. “Oh, Jules,” he says, shaking his head. “What are you doing?” He gives me the half grin that almost kills me.                – Sawyer + Jules   Loc. 1533

My good hand flutters to my hair, which is all matted and gross. “What do I look like?”

Felicia smiles warmly and says, “You look like a girl who just saved that guy’s life.”

I press my lips together and nod. “That’ll do. Yeah. Send him in.”  – Jules + Felicia   Loc. 1894

  3 robots green

3 Robots

Acquired: bought (ebook)

Talk to me!

