Losing Logan

Losing Logan by Sherry D. Ficklin
Published: 4-3-2014 by Clean Teen Publishing
Get the book: AmazonThe Book Depository

What if the one thing you never meant to hold on to, is the one thing you can’t let go of?

Normally finding a hot guy in her bedroom wouldn’t irritate Zoe so badly, but finding her childhood friend Logan there is a big problem. Mostly because he’s dead.

As the only person he can make contact with, he talks Zoe into helping him put together the pieces surrounding his mysterious death so he can move on.

Thrust into his world of ultra popular rich kids, Zoe is out of her element and caught in the cross-hairs of Logan’s suspicious ex-girlfriend and the friends he left behind, each of whom had a reason to want him dead. The deeper they dig to find the truth, the closer Zoe gets to a killer who would do anything to protect his secrets. And that’s just the start of her problems because Zoe is falling for a dead guy.

covergreen

Design – Marya Heiman     Typography – Courtney Nuckels      Rating – 2/5

I really dislike this cover. I can’t even tell what’s going on in the photo. Is this a guy and a girl hugging really awkwardly? Are we looking at the back of a person here? The hands are so desperate looking and I can’t tell if they belong to a guy or a girl. The title bothers me because the top font is very decorative, so the bottom font should really be a sans-serif to set that off, but it’s not. And the decision to have it black wherever the words intersect is just awful and distracting. The only reason this cover is a 2 is because it’s a high-quality awkward photo, it has nice colors, and it’s hard to come up with a half-decent cover for a human falls in love with a ghost book.

thought green

Losing Logan is actually really funny. I know, it looks dramatic and sounds heartbreaking. It is sometimes, but it’s overall hilarious as well. I decided to read this after reading the prequel novella, Haunting Zoe, because it was just so funny. Zoe and Logan weren’t in love before he died, but they’d been friends as kids. Logan died under mysterious circumstances but can’t remember anything about it. So, Zoe and Logan work together and argue a ton to find out how Logan really died and why Zoe’s the only one who can see him.

loved green

  • Zoe + Logan – The way Zoe and Logan interact with each other is hilarious. I especially loved it whenever Zoe was mad at Logan for disappearing. Even the first time they see each other, Zoe’s furious with Logan and it’s so entertaining to read. They weren’t in love or really even friends before Logan died, so there’s no melodrama. Instead, Zoe just flat-out asks every question that pops into her head. They’re very upfront with each other, they aren’t weighed down by sexual tension, and they work well together.
  • mystery – The mystery aspect of this book was very well done. The conclusion to it was my favorite kind – the killer was someone I didn’t suspect, but made sense and I could see how there’d been clues to their identity. Zoe doesn’t do anything stupid in her quest to solve the murder, which I appreciate. The mystery about why Logan could feel things sometimes was also fascinating and had a good explanation. 

didn't love green

  • reaper side-plot – Because this story is so rooted in reality, the reaper plot feels out-of-place. Losing Logan feels like a contemporary mystery that just happens to have a ghost in it. With the mystery and the hilarious way in which Zoe and Logan interact, having more supernatural just isn’t needed. The way the reaper story concluded annoyed me because it made Zoe into someone with a special ability instead of just the normal girl she’d been for the entire book. I also don’t like when books feel like they must deal with every deceased person that the characters have ever grieved over.
  •  Carlos – I really didn’t care for Zoe’s BFF, Carlos. He comes off as the typical gay friend that, for some reason, female main characters often find themselves with. His main purpose seems to be critiquing everything about Zoe. Carlos tells Zoe that she’s hard to be friends with because she seems angry all the time. The thing that bothered me the most about Carlos, though, is that he tells Zoe he’s been waiting forever for her to dress more feminine. This happens when Zoe seeks Carlos’ shopping assistance (because what else do you do with a gay friend right?) in order to blend in with Logan’s friends. This comes off in a way that suggests a lack of acceptance of Zoe as she is.

quotes green

“Hey, we should dig up your body, then pour salt on it and light it on fire.”
He stares at me, his nose crinkled up. “Why?”
“To release your spirit.”
“I’m pretty released, thanks.”
“Still.”
“We are not desecrating my corpse based on something you saw on TV.”
I frown. “You have no sense of whimsy, you know that?”           – Zoe + Logan   Loc. 391

I laugh out loud and raise my right hand, “I solemnly promise never, under any circumstance, to make you dress to match me.”

He shakes his head. “Sorry. I didn’t mean to compare you. I thought it was just a chick thing. Kaylee used to do the same thing to Logan. I figured it was in the manual.”

I grab his arm. “Are you telling me there are instructions? My god, I never got the memo. How have I lived my life without it?”           – Zoe + Kyle    Loc. 3123

  3 robots green

3 Robots

Acquired: free from Amazon (ebook)

Talk to me!

