The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
(Mara Dyer trilogy #1)
Published: 9-27-2011 by Simon & Schuster
Get the book: AmazonThe Book Depository

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

covergreen

Design – Lucy Ruth Cummins     Photo – Heather Landis      Rating – 4/5

The photo used for this cover is perfectly eerie and fitting. I’ve seen this series of photos before and I love them. Underwater photography is beautiful and fascinating. This creepy picture is a great cover for this story. I love the dark background, the weightlessness of the dress, and the tense muscles in the guy’s arms. I’m not in love with the font, but I do like how it’s semi-transparent, and the way ‘unbecoming’ runs off the sides.

thought green

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer seems to be a love-it or hate-it book for most. For me, it was neither. I enjoyed it, but I found Mara dull. The story is fine, but my favorite parts were with Noah – your typical mysterious bad boy love interest. I feel that this story is largely forgettable, with a twist at the end that promises a more interesting sequel. If I do continue reading this series, it’ll be mostly for Noah and only if the book’s on sale.

loved green

  • Noah – Despite myself, I like Noah. I wouldn’t want to date him, but I really like reading about him. He’s arrogant and enigmatic, the kind of fictional bad boy I love to read about. My problem with Noah’s man-whoring is in how everyone at the school talks about and treats all the girls who have fallen for him like trash. How dare that girl have sex with a sexy British guy-gasp! Yet, somehow, no one is treating Noah or Mara like dirt. I don’t understand. 
  • that twist – There’s a huge twist right at the end of this book that was honestly more exciting than the rest of the book. This twist makes me want to read the sequel because it’s sure to be interesting with this new thing for Mara to deal with. I think the twist might be worth a star on its own.

didn't love green

  • Mara – Mara Dyer is a boring character with little personality. All Mara does is react to things happening around her. She imagines her aggressors dying in horrifying situations that just happen to occur. Mara’s only show of personality is calling Noah an ass, and since that ends up with she and Noah dating soon after that, it hardly counts as Mara having any backbone.
  • hallucinations/powers – Mara doesn’t remember what happened the night her best friend died but she’s traumatized and keep hallucinating the three people who died that night. She’s convinced she’s going insane. Oh, and then there’s how when Mara gets ticked off, instead of saying or doing something to fix the situation, she conjures up gruesome thoughts of the offenders dying. Then, those exact things happen. Except, Mara doesn’t seem to realize that she’s responsible for taking those lives. And, surprise, those three friends also died because of Mara. Rather than being rational about this, Mara thinks she’ll just turn herself in to the police because…why Mara? Does she think the police will be able to keep her from mind-zapping people? She never actually feels guilty for anyone besides her best friend. Everything else is more important to her.
  • plot – This book is so long, but I didn’t realize how long until I was about halfway through and nothing interesting was happening. This book starts out so slowly and takes forever to get going. The plot is…I think it’s meant to be paranormal but it’s more like a romance with some horror aspects. Mara has no memory of how she survived the event that killed her friends, she has nightmares and hallucinations about it, and she has creepy anger problems. then me meets Noah and goes from hating him to dating him in about 2 seconds flat and the plot shifts to being all about Noah and Mara being together. And then it’s about Noah and the answers to Mara’s questions about her past. 

quotes green

“And Daniel has to drive to school anyway.”

“So?”

“So wh-”

Noah placed a finger on my lips. “Don’t. Don’t ask me why. It’s annoying. I want to. That’s it. That’s all. So let me.”    – Mara + Noah   pg. 241

The memory of Noah’s face that first day of school arranged itself into an unthinkable shape. He looked at me like he knew me because – because somehow, he did. Any words I could have spoken next vanished from my tongue, from my brain. I could not make sense of what I was hearing.     – pg. 388

  3 robots green

3 Robots

Acquired: bought (ebook)

Talk to me!

