Adventures in Funeral Crashing

Adventures in Funeral Crashing by Milda Harris
Published: 6-16-11 by Smashwords
Get the book: Amazon, The Book Depository

Kait Lenox has a reputation as the weird girl in her high school, mostly because of her ex-best friend turned mean popular girl, Ariel, but maybe it has a little to do with the fact that Kait has a hobby crashing funerals. At one of these, Kait is outted by the most popular guy in school, Ethan Ripley. Yet, instead of humiliating her for all the world to see, he asks for her help, and Kait finds herself entangled in a murder mystery. Not only is the thrill of the mystery exciting, but more importantly Ethan knows her name! A little sleuthing is well worth that!

covergreen

Design – Brett Gilbert       Rating – 4/5

This cover is great because it’s different and unique, which is fitting for this quirky and offbeat story. I could do without the “I love Ethan” since that doesn’t seem like Kait, but the illustrated background is fun. Although I wish the girl’s legs weren’t so pigeon-toed, I like the picture and the way it’s outlined with lime green.

 

thought green

Adventures in Funeral Crashing is a really fast, fun, and quirky story. Kait is headstrong and determined, and Ethan is great. He accepts Kait’s quirks, tries to protect her, and appreciates her help. The two of them together are hilarious because of how often they disagree on what to do. Overall, this is a quick read with great characters and a tricky and engaging mystery.

loved green

 

  • mystery – While certain aspects of the murder mystery are predictable, it is overall twisted and complex enough to keep you guessing. There are enough minor suspects to keep you guessing and second guessing, and I certainly didn’t guess the outcome.
  • Ethan – Ethan is an all-around great guy. He is kind to Kait even when she’s crashing his sister’s funeral and he does what he can to keep her from getting too mixed up in the mystery at hand. It’s clear that Ethan truly appreciates all aspects of Kait’s personality, including her penchant for funeral crashing.
  • Kait – Kait follows her gut in all situations. Although this does sometimes lead her into danger, Kait’s instincts are good. She rushes headlong into unclear situations, but in doing so manages to solve a murder mystery almost by accident. I love how stubborn Kait is, refusing to slow down and not letting Ethan call the shots. 

didn't love green

 

  • Troy – Troy, the college guy who ends up being Kait’s main suspect is a jerk. I definitely side with Ethan as being very against Kait’s plan to get closer to Troy. Troy mainly bothers me because of how Kait acts around him. Even though Troy is a murder suspect, she gets so caught up in solving the mystery that she thinks fake dating her only logical suspect is sane. Troy also seems to be one of those guys who gets a lot of girls even though he’s a sleaze.
  • Ariel – I really dislike best-friend-turned-evil-popular-girl stories. I don’t think they reflect well on girls and they almost never serve any important purpose in a book. It’s also just a plot I’m sick of. Ariel doesn’t do anything except flirt with Ethan and bother Kait. She also seems to be the only one who cares if Kait feels unpopular. 

quotes green

 

It took me a moment to process Ethan’s agreement. He was even kind of smiling at me. I mean, it isn’t every day that the most popular guy in school talks to me, learns I’m a funeral crasher, and then accepts my help investigating his sister’s murder.       – Kait

I smiled, “Are you actually thanking me for crashing your sister’s funeral?”
Ethan smiled back, “Yes, I am. I’m really glad you did.”            – Kait + Ethan

  3 robots green

3 Robots

Acquired: Free (ebook)

Talk to me!

