Keep You From Harm

KeepYouFromHarmKeep You From Harm by Debra Doxer
Published: 9-18-13 by Smashwords
Get the book: Amazon, The Book Depository

Secrets…

They weigh you down. I’ve kept a secret all my life. It’s my mother’s secret, too. I inherited it from her along with a unique ability that only we possess. She’s gone now, another victim of addiction. If her death isn’t enough to bring me to my knees, her betrayal flays me to the bone. Because the secret my mother and I have been keeping is just one of many she’d kept. She never told me I have an older brother. And now he’s here, eager to be my guardian.

There is no one else. So I move across the country to live with this stranger, my brother. But experience has taught me that most situations are temporary and forming attachments only leads to hurt in the end. That’s why I’m determined to keep to myself in this new place, struggling to seem aloof while I’m quietly breaking apart.

Then I meet Lucas…

His magnetism is hard to resist, and most girls at school aren’t resisting. I don’t fall so easily though, especially not for guys who use their good looks as a weapon. From the start, our interactions are tense and volatile. I know it’s because I’m denying the unwelcome desire that grips me when he’s near. I think he feels it, too. He looks at me with an intensity that threatens to unhinge my resolve. Soon he’s trying to break through the walls that past hurts have built.

But I’m not what I appear to be, and it wouldn’t be fair to get involved with him. At least that’s what I tell myself. Until a terrible act of violence reveals that Lucas has a secret, too. It’s a secret that links us together and ties us to an evil history I could never have imagined.

covergreen

Design – Sarah Hansen      Rating – 3/5

The atmosphere of the cover is moody and dark, but it fits well. I really like the color scheme, especially the white and turquoise of the title. The photo is a little strange, as is the way it’s out of focus toward the bottom. The way the title is spread out over most of the cover is nice, but I don’t love the rough edges of the font.

thought green

Raielle moves in with the half-brother she never knew existed after her mother is murdered. Seeking a normal life, Raielle finds herself connecting with her young niece and is drawn to a hot guy, despite her efforts to keep her distance. But Raielle’s secret ability and the mistakes of her family’s past catch up with her. This story is a unique mix of the supernatural and the way a family’s past can haunt someone’s future. Raielle’s ability leads to some intense twists that I never saw coming.

loved green

 

  • twists – Whoa. The twists in this story are really heavy hitters. They made me question everything that had happened with Raielle and her new family. Kyle’s wife, Chloe, was a bit strange around Raielle from the beginning, but I never would have guessed her reason. I felt bad for Kyle and his family, but it was unfair to Raielle to be dragged into their problems like she was.
  • Raielle – Although Raielle has a tough past, she works hard to be independent and maintain control of her own life. She begins a new job and new school as soon as she can, but she still struggles with her past, her ability, and how to adjust to having a stable home life. Raielle’s definitely stubborn and isn’t one to sit around and whine when bad things happen in her life.
  • balance – I think my favorite thing about Keep You From Harm is that it stays firmly grounded in contemporary territory and adds just a touch of the paranormal. This isn’t a story focused on someone discovering their ability. The plot is much more focused on Raielle trying to adjust to having a family than it is on her healing powers.

didn't love green

 

  • Kyle – Raiell’s half-brother Kyle bothered me. I just can’t understand why he was so adamant about Raielle into his family. Yes, family is important, buy a young guy with a wife and a 3-year-old being so determined to house a teenage half-sister is a bit strange. Kyle didn’t have any proof that their mother was neglecting or abusing Raielle. Then, once Raielle began living with Kyle’s family, some things were odd. Why on earth would Kyle bring his father over to meet Raielle while she’s still dealing with being a part of Kyle’s family? Also, it was strange that Kyle seemed to want to keep Raielle at home as much as possible; and parent her as well. Oh, you want to go get a job and have a social life? As the father figure, I feel I must object.
  • Lucas – While Lucas is an alright guy, I wasn’t a big fan of him in the beginning of the story. He and Raielle started off with a strange glare and fight a bit kind of relationship with each other. I found Lucas overall to be a bit boring. I really don’t remember anything about him, save for a few bad things. He was also a little overprotective for my taste. I do love how Raielle told him off by saying she’s never going to be a girl who does everything Lucas tells her to.
  • Raielle’s grandmother – It’s obvious in this book that Raielle’s grandma is cast as a villain. Raielle’s interaction with her is disastrous, as she is clearly not a kind person. On top of that, I don’t think that the grandma was needed in order to make a connection between Raielle and Lucas’ families. In fact, in the second half of the book I kept forgetting what they were talking about when they mentioned that connection.

quotes green

 

I clear my throat and try to find my voice. “You keep saving me from rabid blondes,” I tell him.

“You keep pissing them off,” he answers.

“Well, thanks…again.”           – Raielle + Lucas   pg. 83

 

“Stop pushing me away. One of these days, I might actually think you mean it.”

I back away from him. “I’m trying to protect you, you idiot.”        – Lucas + Raielle   pg. 266

  3 robots green

3 Robots

Acquired: bought (ebook)

Talk to me!

