Callum & Harper

greenBookReview

CallumAndHarperCallum & Harper by Fisher Amelie
Published: 12-22-2011 by Fisher Amelie
Get the book: Amazon

Life sucks for orphans Callum Tate and Harper Bailey. 

Kicked out of their foster homes because they suffer the ‘eighteen disease’ with nothing but a hundred dollar check from the government and a pat on the back, they’re forced to rely on a system that failed them miserably. 

So they sit. They sit inside Social Services, waiting for their social workers to call their names and offer them the miracle they know will never come but they sit anyway because they have nowhere else to go, no other options on their very literal and figurative empty plates.

But as they sit, they notice the other. Although captivated, they each come to the conclusion that life is complicated enough without throwing in a boiling tension that can’t ever be acted upon because they’re both too busy thinking about where their next meal will come from but when their names are called and both are placed on a year long waiting list for permanent housing, suddenly relying on each other seems like a very viable plan B. 

And, oh, how lovely Plan B’s can be. 

Well, except for the psycho from Harper’s past that haunts her and, oh, yeah, there’s the little issue that neither of them knows they’re in love with the other. 

Needless to say, Callum & Harper’s life just got a bit more complicated.

covergreen

Design – Fisher Amelie + her husband      Rating – 3/5

I like the overall layout of this cover, with the title dividing the 2 characters. I also like how they’re floating and flipping like they have nowhere to land, which is basically the reality for both Callum and Harper. The cover is visually interesting because it’s chaotic. It makes me want to look closer to figure out what is going on. There are so many pictures overlaying other pictures that it’s confusing. I think the sun and moon are completely unnecessary, and that they aren’t even actually acting as lighting sources for the pictures they’re set on.

Major Crush

 

This is my first 1 star review. I rolled my eyes and scoffed at this book so often that I almost gave up on it all together. There are so many glowing reviews on the internet for this book and I just can’t understand why, because I hated it that much. This book is completely unrealistic, uninteresting, and just plain silly. Honestly, it’s the kind of book that turns me off of self-published books.

Major Crush

  • idea – I like the idea of this book much more than I like the actual book. The summary – 2 orphans who are abandoned by the foster care system because they turn 18, then find each other and fall in love – sounds so good. The execution of this plot is not at all what the summary had me expecting, but I think I would enjoy a book that is more focused on the slow falling in love of the 2 characters, and removes the crazy stalker plot – maybe replace it with an ex-boyfriend that’s still into Harper, which is definitely more what I was expecting.

Jellicoe Road

  • writing – The writing really needs an editor, especially if I noticed the tense changing. In a single sentence, the author switches back and forth between past tense and present tense. So, in the middle of this sentence on page 17 full of phrases like “tingling electricity” and “violent trembles,” I’m not thinking about the characters’ feelings. I’m counting up the number of verbs that aren’t agreeing with each other.
  • insta-love – Nothing in this book is realistic, least of all the main point – the relationship between Callum and Harper. By page 19, we’ve covered the love at 1st sight pretty thoroughly, so the characters move on to the disgustingly sappy confessions. This is still on the 1st day they’ve known each other – in fact they met mere hours before, but they’re vowing to take care of each other for the foreseeable future.
  • relationship – As you may have guessed from the title, this book is mainly about Callum and Harper. The problem is that Callum and Harper go from love at 1st sight to getting married in order to hide from a crazy stalker to getting divorced – all at an unrealistically rapid pace. Plus, once they get married, we jump 2 years forward, and even though it’s obvious to everyone but Callum and Harper that they’ve been in love from minute 1, we’re supposed to believe that they sleep in separate beds and have never once discussed their feelings. It doesn’t make any sense at all that no one’s made a move in 2 years after the way they were all over each other the day they met. Then, at the end, we get to see that they’re living happily-ever-after 6 years later. But they could have been happy at the start if they’d just been honest with each other.
  • storyline – From the summary I really thought this was going to be a sweet love story about 2 people learning to trust one another despite their past disappointments with trusting someone. Instead, the love story was a quick and dirty “these 2 attractive misfits love each other,” now on with the show. Everything after that was all about Harper’s crazy stalker, who was absolutely despicable. I didn’t know going in that there would be so much about a sexually abusive loser. I don’t like to read books with that kind of plot – it’s not my idea of a good time – so I was disappointed that most of this book was about this guys’ effect on Harper’s life.
  • length – This book is way too long. For over 300 pages the story is full of non-action between Callum and Harper as they flirt and fight without ever doing anything about it. The plot is redundant. It’s Callum and Harper are confronted by crazy stalker, somehow win while he escapes, sexual tension heightens. Then rinse and repeat. I want to read books that don’t repeat the same snippet of a plot over and over. I ended up skimming over the words to at least the last 30% of this book because I just lost interest.

Major Crush

  • “And here we are again, Callum. We really must stop playing these games.”       I swallowed hard. “What could you possibly mean, Harper?”        “Oh, just that you and I are walking a razor thin line and I’m trying to find out if it’s sharp enough to actually hurt us.”     – Harper + Callum   pg. 83

1robot

1 Robot

Acquired: bought (ebook)

3 thoughts on “Callum & Harper

  1. Pingback: Top Ten: Books That Were Hard to Read | this is your brain on books

  2. I actually like reading 1 star reviews for books I’m interested in. It really helps me to see what others didn’t like in a book and if they are the same sorts of things that would bother me. All your dislikes of this would bug me as well so I’ll be removing it from my TBR. Thanks for the honest review =)

Talk to me!

