Pivot Point

PivotPoint Pivot Point by Kasie West
Published: 2-12-13 by HarperTeen
Get the book: Amazon
Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, a special type of clairvoyant, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she is able to look into the future and see both outcomes. So when her parents tell her they are getting a divorce and she has to pick who she wants to live with, a Search has never been more important.

In one future Addie is living with her mom in the life she’s always known and is being pursued by the most popular guy in school. In the other she is the new girl in school, where she falls for a cute, quiet artist. Then Addie finds herself drawn into a murder investigation, and her fate takes a darker turn. With so much to lose in either future, Addie must decide which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she’s willing to live without.

 

covergreen

 

Design – Sammy Yuen     Photo – Ada Summer     Rating – 4/5

I like how the title and author’s name run vertically up the center of the cover, dividing it into two halves. It’s cool that one of the girls on the cover is a bit faded while the other is not, because Addie has two paths to choose from, but she does have to pick one while the other never happens.

Major Crush

 

Overall, this book was one wild ride. Between the two timelines and the way that each one seems pretty good at first but then goes downhill, and all the drama in each one, it was like two books in one. And it was intense. The ending had me rushing to my computer to see if there was a sequel (yes, but not until early 2014).

Major Crush

 

  • non-love triangle love triangle – That phrase was confusing, so stay with me here. There are two guys interested in Addie, but each guy is in a different timeline – so there’s no angst. It was pretty great. Very interesting, and there was no whining over guys!
  • different timelines – The whole idea of this book is excellent. There are two different ways Addie’s life could go based on one major decision she must make. This is a really cool concept that I’ve been interested in for a while – the different ways someone’s life could turn out based on a small decision, or a big decision. Everyone wonders “what if?” This book doesn’t pull the punches. Serious things happen in both timelines. It’s not an easy decision for Addie to choose which path to take – both timelines have their drawbacks.
  • parallels – I enjoyed how there was always a small part of each chapter that overlapped with the previous chapter. The chapters alternate between Addie’s paranormal life and her normal life. Although things happen differently, you can tell which events have just occurred by things mentioned in the opposite timeline.
  • Trevor – No question which guy Addie should be with. Trevor is a great guy, and he and Addie really hit it off. He’s not bitter and vindictive about his injury, even though he cares so much about football.
  • twists – It’s a little tricky to determine who is going to do what. People who seem like they’re decent turn out to to be keeping huge secrets, and people who appear to be villains aren’t the worst of the bunch after all. And there was no way I would have ever seen the way the timelines converged at the end coming. I loved it.

Jellicoe Road

 

  • technology – The kids living in Addie’s paranormal community are obsessed with the futuristic tech they have there. When Addie and her friends and family are in the normal world, they are ridiculously helpless in the face of things like door locks and cars. Seriously – door lock and cars.
  • Duke – I immediately disliked Duke. He’s arrogant and his idea of a good way to get a girl’s attention is awful. He just comes off as a jerk and a self-centered egomaniac.

Major Crush

 

  • “I’ll see you after school then, Blue Eyes.”     I hold back a curse.     “I knew they weren’t brown. I didn’t know you were studying Light Manipulation. I’m impressed. But it takes concentration.” He leans forward slowly until his mouth is inches from my ear. My eyes flutter and I know he heard the gasp of air I took no matter how quiet it was. “You got distracted,” he whispers, then grabs his backpack from behind me and leaves.     “Not by you,” I call after him.     – Addie + Duke   pg. 81
  • “What did I do to you?” Bobby asks from behind me.     I stop.     “What did you see me do that changed the way you look at me?”     “I saw who you really are.”     – Addie + Bobby   pg. 202

Get Well Soon

 

5 Robots

Acquired: bought (ebook)

Talk to me!

