Right of Way

RightOfWayRight of Way by Lauren Barnholdt
Published: 7-9-13 by Simon Pulse
Get the book: Amazon
Here are Peyton and Jace, meeting on vacation. Click! It’s awesome, it’s easy, it’s romantic. This is the real deal.

Unless it isn’t. Because when you’re in love, you don’t just stop calling one day. And you don’t keep secrets. Or lie. And when your life starts falling apart, you’re supposed to have the other person to lean on.

Here are Peyton and Jace again, broken up but thrown together on a road trip. One of them is lying about the destination. One of them is pretending not to be leaving something behind. And neither of them is prepared for what’s coming on the road ahead…

covergreen

Design – unknown, but the Two Way Street cover is by Russell Gordon     Rating – 3/5

Simple, clean, and appropriate to the story. I really appreciate how the cover of this book fits with Lauren Barnholdt’s other roadtrip book, Two Way Street. It’s also cool that the people on the cover are in shadow – it allows you to imagine the characters for yourself. One of my favorite book cover designers, Peter Mendelsund, said “Imagining the character is an important experience for the reader – I only show part of the character on the cover, never the entire person.”

Major Crush

As far as roadtrip books go, this isn’t one that I’ll remember forever, but it was pretty good. Overall I preferred Two Way Street, but it’s always interesting to me to read a book where people who are at odds are thrown together for an extended amount of time.

Major Crush

  • Jace – Other than when he stopped talking to Peyton, I thought Jace was a good guy. An average guy. Girls confused him, he didn’t want to go to his graduation. He tried to do right by Peyton, even when she was a pain in the butt.
  • Jace + Peyton – I enjoyed Jace and Peyton’s interactions with each other. I wish there was more time spent with the 2 of them, especially since they were alone on a roadtrip. I thought there would be a lot more about the 2 of them together.

Jellicoe Road

  • why they stopped talking – It’s hard to talk about it without spoilers. Anyway, Jace decided to stop talking to Peyton, and his reason was awful. I can’t believe he just quit talking to her because she didn’t tell him absolutely everything about her life right away. Some things you have to build up to – establish a solid friendship/relationship before diving into the big stuff. I like Jace, but this is a pretty major thing.
  • Peyton – Peyton is, to me, a pretty flat character. She’s whiny, bratty, and definitely high maintenance, despite what she wants to think. Instead of talking to her friends about what’s bothering her, she actively avoids discussing her problems and decides that running away is a viable option – even though she’s only 17.
  • running away – Whenever there was a flashback or another time when Peyton was “planning” her new life, I just couldn’t figure out how on earth she thought any of it would possibly work. She thought the amount of cash she had on her would last until she found a job in her new place, when it would probably not even get her to Connecticut.

Major Crush

  • “Why would I have a GPS? Until this morning, I was planning on going home right after brunch, which is a fifteen-minute drive that I know very well, not a fifteen-hour drive that is going to take me God knows where.”     “Twenty-seven,” she says.     “What?”     “Twenty-seven-hour drive.”     “It’s twenty-seven hours to your house?”     She shrugs. “I thought you knew.”     – Peyton + Jace   pg. 65-66 (ARC)
  • Because when she slammed into that car behind us, I realized something. I didn’t want to call off the trip. She crashed my car, she’d been being kind of bratty to me, I was probably going to miss my stupid graduation because of her, and still I didn’t want to call off the trip.     – Jace   pg. 175 (ARC)

Don't Stop Now

3 Robots

Acquired: Won (via PulseIt)

Talk to me!

