Anna and the French Kiss

AnnaAndTheFrenchKissAnna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Published: 12-2-2010 by Dutton Juvenile
Get the book: Amazon

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend. 

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

covergreen

Design – Kristina Duewell     Photo – Michael Frost     Rating – 3/5

It’s very generically love story in Paris. There’s nothing special about it really, and the Eiffel Tower isn’t important to the story. I do really like the font choices though.

Major Crush

I waited a long time to read this book. It just didn’t really appeal to me from the description, but everyone was raving about it. So I thought maybe there was more to this book than the summary revealed, and honestly I did love it. I don’t like the summaries on Sarah Dessen books either, but they’re some of my favorite books.

Major Crush

  • Anna – Anna’s a great, realistic character. I think my favorite thing about her is that she doesn’t take St. Clair’s crap. She calls him out on always running back to his girlfriend, despite his obvious interest in Anna. She’s real – she gets homesick, she falls for the kind and beautiful boy, she has fights with her friends, and she’s not extremely self-confident.
  • St. Clair – I love that Anna calls him St. Clair – first in an attempt to be just friends with him, and later when she’s angry with him. His sense os humor is hilarious and I loved how he and Anna teased each other. Their friendship was such a great part of the book.
  • Paris – I’m so glad that the setting for this book isn’t the typical “tourist” Paris. Instead, it was a unique, deeply interesting city, filled with tiny cinemas for Anna to frequent. The major landmarks are, of course, present, but the romantic climax does not take place at the Eiffel Tower, and this made me very happy. Anna and St. Clair made Point Zero (and Notre Dame) so romantic and special, and I loved how the story kept coming back to it.
  • Anna and St. Clair’s relationship – Of course, Anna does feel an attraction to St. Clair as soon as she meets him, but she is not head-over-heels in love with him at first sight. Their friendship develops as they grow closer over the course of the book and share more of themselves. Their romance grows out of their friendship.

Jellicoe Road

  • Amanda – I’m so tired of the whole stereotypical mean girl always terrorizing the main character plot. My experience is that in high school, people are too concerned with their own lives to obsess over bullying someone so often. Perhaps it’s different in boarding school though. Plus there are only 25 people in Anna’s entire grade at her school. It just makes me so irritated to read about this kind of awful behavior.

Major Crush

  • I pay for my meal and take the seat next to St. Clair. “Thanks. I forgot how to flip off the English. I’ll use the correct hand gesture next time.”     “My pleasure. Always happy to educate.”     – Anna + Etienne    pg. 55
  • Oh no. He’s not going to cry, is he? Because even though it’s sweet when guys cry, I am so not prepared for this. Girl Scouts didn’t teach me what to do with emotionally unstable drunk boys.     – pg. 140

Get Well Soon

5 Robots

Acquired: bought

One thought on “Anna and the French Kiss

  1. Pingback: Lola and the Boy Next Door | this is your brain on books

Talk to me!

